I Lied…

Sweet Matthew

I’ll never forget the day I heard words coming from the mouth of my son that I would have bet the farm I would NEVER hear. Matt was about four years old at the time and I’m not really sure what was going on, but I’m sure it went something like this.

I said, “Matt, did you do so and so?”

Matt emphatically replied, “No ma’am.”

To which I replied with all the motherly stern I could muster, “Matt, don’t lie to me….”

Matt then looked at me with his sweet little cherub like face and said, “But mommy, I lie to you all the time.”

I don’t even have the words to tell you what went through my mind. And his four year old little self was SO SERIOUS. His expression truly looked like he was thinking “poor woman, she thinks I tell her the truth….tsk, tsk.”

Finally after I gathered my small amount of remaining wits, I did as any good mother would do, I sent him to his room and told him I would be back to talk with him as soon as I stopped laughing.

Apparently, I lie to you guys too. I told you I’d pick my blogging back up and I didn’t. Oops! But I think I’m back now. There will be some breaks now and then. Especially considering the fact that the boy in Memphis is moving in his new house soon. And you know how I love to control help my boys.

Just so I don’t lie again, let’s just take this one blog post at a time, k? K.

Leave a Reply

